top of page

The Planets In Astrology (The Grahas)

Astrology is simply the study of the planets, as they are the cosmic significators that bring to us the forces of the universe. Everything under the sun is represented by one of the planets, once we have a firm understanding of the planets and their energies, we begin to comprehend the possibilities of the human life. Below are descriptions of each planet, its energies and what it represents in an astrological chart.


The Sun represents the actual core of a person, the inner self. It also shows us the general vitality and the ability to assert oneself, the confidence and strength of character. The Sun also represents life force, the government, the father and authority figures. If the Sun is well placed it indicates self reliance, confidence and the ability to inspire others. If it is weak the person lacks inspiration and the energy level is weak. The Sun is also the indicator of career. In medical astrology the Sun represents the heart. The Sun rules over Leo, it is exalted in Aries, and it debilitated in Libra and its element is fire.


As the Sun represents the cosmic masculine energy, the moon represents the cosmic feminine energy. The Moon represents our minds and emotions, our imagination and the capacity to be receptive; it represents our capacity to adapt. It shows how we related to other people, our social consciousness. The moon also represents our emotional nature, our needs and insecurities, the mother, music and popularity. In medical astrology the Moon represents the stomach and body liquids. It also represents the menstruation cycle, the ovaries and the uterus. The Moon rules over Cancer, its element is water, it is exalted in Taurus, and it is debilitated in Scorpio.


Mars is the planet of energy, drive and power; it rules courage, determination and aggression. Mars represents our capacity to project our emotions, on an emotional level it relates to anger. As Venus represents the female energy, Mars represents the male energy; the relationship between the sexes can be read through them. A strong Mars provides independence, courage and self confidence, a weak Mars indicates lack of energy, the inability to work consistently and to defend oneself. Mars represents technical and mechanical abilities, it is often prominent in the chart of engineers, it is associated with surgery and dentistry as it rules over sharp objects. Mars also represents libido, enemies, weapons and army. In medical astrology Mars represents the blood, the gallbladder, the left ear and the male sexual organ. Mars rules over Aries and Scorpio, it is exalted in Capricorn and falls in cancer.


Mercury is the planet of communication, hence it rules over thought, reason and rationality. It represents the spoken and written word, the ability for cognition, weighing and evaluating, the process of learning and skills. Mercury represents siblings, neighbors and the way we think, talk or express ourselves intellectually. Mercury also represents commerce and business, and it is an important factor for determining our vocation. Mercury is generally strong in the charts of writers and artists, speakers and people who use their hands skillfully. If Mercury is weak in a person’s chart it can make him rationalize things for his favor, it can also create a problem with defined boundaries, hence thieves always have difficult Mercury in their charts. In medical astrology Mercury rules over the brain and the nervous system. Mercury rules over Gemini and Virgo, it is exalted in Virgo, it is debilitated in Pisces.


Jupiter is known the great benefic and generous planet in astrology. Jupiter rules over the laws of the inner nature, it represents the search for individual meaning and purpose, it is the planet of optimism and seeing the bigger picture, it rules over hope, faith, growth, expansion and good fortune. Jupiter is the indicator of the domains of law, religion, philosophy and morality. Jupiter rules over banks, temples and schools. Jupiter is a creative planet; hence it is the main indicator for children, from the state of Jupiter we can come to know about children, their number, sex, health etc. Jupiter is the husband in a female's chart, if Jupiter is good, her husband will be supportive of her own path, if Jupiter is challenged, otherwise. In medical astrology Jupiter rules the liver, blood circulation and fat. Jupiter rules over Sagittarius and Pisces, it is exalted in cancer and it is debilitated in Capricorn.


Venus is a feminine planet; it is the planet of love and beauty. Venus is also the planet of comfort, harmony, diplomacy and the enjoyment of pleasures. Venus also represents vehicles and luxuries. Venus is also the significator of art, poetry, painting, music and dance. She indicates our sensitivity, refinement and gentleness. A weak Venus in a person’s chart shows unrefined and vulgar character. Venus is the indicator for love and marriage; she is the wife in a man’s chart. A weak Venus in a woman’s chart shows that her femininity will be low or her relationship challenged. For a man it shows that his wife will be challenged. In medical astrology Venus represents the DNA, female reproductive organs, kidneys and the throat because of its association with Taurus. Venus rules over Taurus and Libra, it is exalted in Pisces and it is debilitated in Virgo.


Saturn is the most difficult of the major planets; he has been feared throughout the centuries as he represents disease, pessimism, poverty, separation and death. Saturn is the planet of restriction, limitations and reality, wherever it is placed in the chart, this is the area of life that is most challenging and often brings frustrations and delays, it is the area of life where we need to have realistic expectations. As Jupiter represents joy, creation and expansion, Saturn represents sorrow, destruction and contraction. Saturn rules over prisons, old age, and weaknesses. Saturn is a hard task master, it is the planet that helps us mature through experiencing difficulties, if a person cooperates with Saturn and fulfills the responsibilities indicated by Saturn is their birth chart, they mature and experience great results. Positively Saturn is the planet of patience, ambition and determination; it represents the powers of endurance and the ability to concentrate. In medical astrology Saturn rules over the immune system, the bones, teeth and the right ear. Saturn rules over Capricorn and Aquarius, it is exalted in Libra and it falls in Aries.

The Nodes of the Moon

In addition to the seven planets, the nodes of the Moon are considered very important in Vedic astrology. The North Node of the Moon is called Rahu, and the South Node of the Moon is called Ketu, these two are not embodied planets, they are merely regarded as shadow planets. Astronomically, they represent the intersection point of the orbit of the Moon and the ecliptic.

The North Node of the Moon "Rahu"

Rahu represents the worldly desires, wherever it is placed in the birth chart shows where our desires are naturally expressed into actions. If Rahu is well placed it can lead to worldly accomplishments, prestige, fame and power. If it is afflicted it can create insatiable desires.

Rahu represents cheating, pleasure seeking and immoral acts. Rahu represents poison, drugs and can lead to worldly illusion.

Rahu is related to insanity, neurological disorders and abnormal sensitivities of the mind, especially when it is related to planets like Moon and Mercury. It deals with hallucination, trance, psychosis and paranoia.

The South Node of the Moon "Ketu"